Topps releases 2010 Major League All Rookie team

Just seven years after distributing its first Major League Baseball card set, Topps began a tradition that continues to this day.

The 2010 Topps Major League Rookie All-Star team was named on Monday, led by the likes of Mike Stanton, Buster Posey and Jason Heyward.

The Rookie All-Stars will each have a trophy on Topps’ 2011 cards, with Series One due out in early February.

This year’s team includes:

1B Gaby Sanchez, Florida (151 games, 19 HR, 85 RBI, .273)
2B Neil Walker, Pittsburgh (110, 12, 66, .296)
3B Danny Valencia, Minnesota (85, 7, 40, .311)
SS Starlin Castro, Chicago (N.L.) (125, 3, 41, .300)
OF Austin Jackson, Detroit (151, 4, 41, .293)
OF Mike Stanton, Florida (100, 22, 59, .259)
OF Jason Heyward, Atlanta (142, 18, 72, .277)
C Buster Posey, San Francisco (108, 18, 67, .305)

RHP Stephen Strasburg, Washington (68 IP, 5-3, 2.91, 92 K, 17 BB)
LHP Jaime Garcia, St. Louis (163.1 IP, 13-8, 2.70, 132 K, 64 BB)

Relief: Neftali Feliz, Texas (69.1 IP, 40 Saves, 2,73, 71 K, 18 BB)

The Rookie All-Star team is now more than a half century old and a check of history shows 17 future Hall of Famers having earned the little gold cup since 1959.

Willie McCovey was the first All-Star Rookie to go on to a Cooperstown-worthy career.  Others include Johnny Bench, Rod Carew, Gary Carter, Andre Dawson, Carlton Fisk, Paul Molitor, Joe Morgan, Eddie Murray, Tony Perez, Kirby Puckett, Jim Rice, Cal Ripken, Ryne Sandberg, Tom Seaver, Ozzie Smith and Billy Williams.

Comments are closed.