Bracketology 2010 Winners Announced

Nothing like a little voting – bracket style – to get you fired up for the Madness of March, otherwise known as the NCAA Tournament. Tuff Stuff is creating a bracket of the best 16 rookie cards from the 1980s and ’90s in baseball, basketball, football and hockey, titled "Bracketology 2010" and pitting them against each other until there is one left standing – all determined by your votes.

Voting has officially concluded on the Championship Matchup pitting No. 1 1986-87 Fleer Michael Jordan against No. 2 1979-80 Topps Wayne Gretzky. After more than 25,000 votes throughout the contest and more than 5,000 on the Championship matchupo alone, the voters have decided who has the best rookie card of the last 20 years. After securing more than 95 pecent of the vote, the 1986-87 Fleer Michael Jordan has been deemed the champion of the Bracketology 2010 contest. Jordan rolled to an easy win in the title matchup, claiming 4,963 votes to just 264 for runner-up, the 1979-80 Topps Wayne Gretzky rookie. Thanks to all of you who have participated. We’ll announce the winners of the five rookie cards we’ll be picking at random later today.

Five great Rookie Cards delivered to five lucky winners. Thanks to our great Bracketology 2010 contest sponsors, we have more than $1,000 in Rookie Cards to give away to the following five winners. Thanks to everybody who particpated in the voting and stay tuned to for more hobby news and great contests.
Bracketology 2010 Contest Winners:
5th Place: George Achenbach, Stuart, Fla. Prize: 1989 UD Ken Griffey Jr. RC
4th: Kelly Carew, Holland, Ohio Prize: 1986 Topps Jerry Rice RC
3rd: Frank Dong, Concord, Calif. Prize: 1981 Topps Joe Montana RC
2nd: Todd Kuhn, Wisconsin Rapids, Wis. Prize: 1984 Topps Dan Marino RC
1st: Jack Borna, Dunkirk, Md. Prize: 1979-80 Topps Wayne Gretzky RC

Championship matchup:
No. 1 seed 1986-87 Fleer Michael Jordan vs. No. 2 seed 1979-80 Topps Wayne Gretzky

To VOTE now, click HERE
To see the up-to-date RESULTS

Those who vote are eligible to win some of the great rookie cards featured in the pairings, including a 1984 Topps Dan Marino, 1981 Topps Joe Montana and 1989 Upper Deck Ken Griffey Jr., among others. The Grand Prize Winner will receive a PSA 6 Wayne Gretzky RC with the RCs listed above being giving away to voters as runner-up prizes.

To VOTE now, click HERE

Comments are closed.